Choose artist...
Andre Schuen - Daniel Heide

Franz Schubert - Schwanengesang

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: November 18, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Schubert Schwanengesang, D_ 957 - I_ Liebesbotschaft  
2 II_ Kriegers Ahnung  
3 III_ Fru¨hlingssehnsucht  
4 IV_ Sta¨ndchen  
5 V_ Aufenthalt  
6 VI_ In der Ferne  
7 VII_ Abschied  
8 VIII_ Der Atlas  
9 IX_ Ihr Bild  
10 X_ Das Fischerma¨dchen  
11 XI_ Die Stadt  
12 XII_ Am Meer  
13 XIII_ Der Doppelga¨nger  
14 XIV_ Die Taubenpost  
Show all tracks

Andrè Schuen’s debut album for Deutsche Grammophon, a moving interpretation of Schubert’s Die schöne Müllerin, received widespread critical acclaim, with Gramophone praising the baritone’s “superb, free-ranging voice, used with taste and invariable sensitivity to the text”. Now Schuen continues his personal journey into the composer’s late, great song cycles with a new recording of Schwanengesang (Swan Song), on which he is joined once more by his longstanding duo partner Daniel Heide, hailed in turn by Gramophone for his “model” accompaniment and “limpid playing”. Heide’s subtle pianism again complements Schuen’s insightful interpretations as together they project the beauty and pathos, drama and despair of the fourteen Schwanengesang Lieder. The album is set for release on 18 November 2022 on CD and digitally, including an immersive Dolby Atmos version.

Schubert completed the last of what would prove to be his final songs just over a month before his death in November 1828. Seven of the poems he chose to set at this time are by Ludwig Rellstab, six by Heinrich Heine and one, (“Die Taubenpost”), by the Austrian polymath Johann Gabriel Seidl. It seems likely that he expected the Rellstab and Heine songs to be published separately; however, the Vienna-based composer and publisher, Tobias Haslinger, aware of their posthumous significance as Schubert’s last musical testament, issued them in 1829 under the title Schwanengesang. 

Go to artist details