Choose artist...
Anastasia Kobekina


Sony Classical
Release Date: February 2, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Album Trailer
1 Abendserenade  
2 Ariadnes Lament (Variations on a Theme by Claudio Monteverdi  
3 Canto della Buranella (From Il Casanova di Federico Fellini  
4 Cello Concerto in A Minor, RV 419 III. Allegro  
5 Cello Concerto in E-Flat Major, RV 408 II. Largo  
6 Cello Suite No. 3, Op. 87 IV. Barcarolla  
7 Che si puo fare  
8 Concerto for Cello and Bassoon in E Minor, RV 409 III. Allegro  
9 Concerto in D Minor, BWV 974 II. Adagio (After Marcello)  
10 Emerald and Stone  
11 Go, Crystal Tears  
12 I. [Allegro]  
13 I. Allegro  
14 II. Adagio  
15 III. Allegro  
16 Lamento dArianna  
17 Les berceaux, Op. 23, No. 1  
18 Limestone & Felt  
19 Lorfeo Orfeo, tu dormi  
20 Lorfeo Se desti pieta  
21 Signs, Games and Messages Arnyak (Shadows)  
Show all tracks

Sony Classical presents its debut album from charismatic cellist Anastasia Kobekina, to be released on February 2, 2024. The ‘unrivalled musician’ (Le Figaro) known for her fearless musicianship and ‘almost overwhelming sincerity’ (The Strad) presents an eclectic concept album exploring her own multifaceted relationship to the city of Venice.

Anastasia Kobekina is a trailblazing artist who is proving a major force in shaping the future of classical music. A former BBC New Generation Artist and Borletti-Butoni

Trust Artist, her communication skills and imaginative flair combine with a command of modern and baroque cellos, both of which mingle seamlessly on her new album.

Venice, which showcases many sides of Kobekina’s artistry, draws listeners away from the lugubrious gondoliers and carnival masks that have provided our standard musical image of Venice. Instead, the album asks how much of what we’ve internalized about the iconic city is actually real. ‘Venice feels not just a city but an idea, a character in itself,’ says the cellist; ‘or maybe it presents a different character to each of us. It asks questions of you, fires your imagination.’

Her album, on which Kobekina is joined by a team of handpicked soloists and the Basel Chamber Orchestra, presents an embracing, personal conversation between past and present, including music from the Renaissance of Claudio Monteverdi and John Dowland to the twenty-first-century of Brian Eno and Caroline Shaw.

Go to artist details